And frankly, who gives a shit? – By Ingrid Jackson


Seems like nowadays, everywhere that I turn, someone is trying to tell me what to do, how to be, what to say,  what to believe in, who to love, how to lead my life, etc. It is true that most people do mean well and want “the best for you“ but sometimes meaning well and wanting me to be something or someone who I am not, just so the rest of the 6,840,507,003 other people in the world can feel comfortable with my presence in it, just does not ring right to me and frankly that makes me feel freaking uncomfortable. I mean, really, are you freaking kidding me? ( I am trying to be a lady here, but truth be told I did want to use the “F” word, feel free to fill in the blanks for me! )

I mean, it is okay to share your thoughts and findings with the world according to your own perception, there is NOTHING wrong with that. The problem lies in imposing those findings or ways of being on others. Then, having or trying to get the world to believe that if they do not follow suit that they are doomed, unaccepted and plainly treated like shit or third class citizens. All because supposedly you are not doing things “the right way“ and thus making  people feel awkward, undeserving, weird, unappreciated, abused, stupid, less than, etc… Doing this to other people is WRONG!

I mean who made anyone an authority in “being-ness?” You are who you are, period! The truth is that every single person on this planet is fighting the same fight, no exceptions. All we really need is love and acceptance, not someone barking at us telling us how to lead our lives! I think that it is great that some people think that they have it all figured out and you know what? Maybe they have and there is nothing wrong with sharing it. Hey, If your findings give you inner peace and purpose, then more power to you! What I have a problem with is when some people think that they know “how everything in the whole freaking universe works” and then want me to follow suit. My answer to that is a HUGE, NO Freaking WAY Jose!

I love being different and being around people who are different than I am. That is what makes life fun, adventurous and exciting. I love the differences in opinions, in ways of being, in backgrounds, skin color, religious beliefs, music, accents, flavors etc. True, there are some things that I do not like or tolerate about other people but that is because it is just the way I am, not because there is something wrong with others. Just because I feel uncomfortable with the way someone else is, that does not all of a sudden make my ways right, making me the epitome of perfection. I mean “how dare you?” And who the hell do you think you are to tell anyone how they should lead their lives? All because you think that you know “what is best for me and others” I mean really?

As long as you are not physically or mentally hurting others and stealing what they worked so hard to earn, I believe in live and let live. Why should I care about who you marry, what your religion is, your skin color, country of origin, etc? I want you to be you, now get out of my way and let me be me. I want to be able to enjoy my existence on this planet to the best of my ability in a way that I can be genuine, be able to celebrate who I am and not be ashamed of being me and I want the same for you.

If there are things about others that I do not like or the environment that they chose to be in,  instead of imposing that others change so I can feel better, I just remove myself from the presence of that individual or their environment, it is that simple! It would be erroneous and unfair for me to think that the world revolves around me, that everyone must change and must cater to me, so I can feel comfortable and safe. Every one has the right to be here and who the hell am I to tell anyone how to live their lives!

And frankly, who gives a shit? – By Ingrid Jackson

FREE Spanish Lessons!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Pete Armetta on May 23, 2012 - 2:32 am

    Yeh who cares! :) Love it, you’re preaching to the choir here, you’re whole outlook resonates no doubt.

    • #2 by myspanishtranslator on May 23, 2012 - 6:29 am

      Thank you. :-) This was not supposed to be a personal blog for me but one for business. However, when you are as passionate as I am about some things… I guess I just could not help my self or perhaps I din’t even want to! Besides, who cares?

      • #3 by Pete Armetta on May 23, 2012 - 8:00 am

        You know to just be yourself. :) Unadulterated!

      • #4 by myspanishtranslator on May 23, 2012 - 8:05 am

        And it feels soooo good. Thank you :-)

  2. #5 by Azevedo on May 23, 2012 - 2:54 am

    You shouldn’t write things like this!

    • #6 by myspanishtranslator on May 23, 2012 - 6:41 am

      I appreciate your opinion, but frankly who gives a shit?
      You are a funny guy Azevedo! :-) Don’t worry, you did not disappoint me and I still think highly of you! Oh and by the way, I now name you master of all things of no importance!

      • #7 by myspanishtranslator on June 1, 2012 - 6:58 am

        Azevedo, I hope that I did not make you feel bad in any way, if I did, please accept my apologies. After seeing your blog and noticing your good sense of humor, I really thought that you were being playful and funny. So, I decided to be silly and funny too. My humor can be a bit sarcastic, hopefully it did not rub you the wrong way. I was just being me :-)

  3. #8 by Azevedo on June 2, 2012 - 9:25 am

    Oh, you didn’t! Your rubbing was just right, if you know what I mean…
    Sorry, I just sometimes take to long to reply because I simply forget! :)

    • #9 by myspanishtranslator on June 2, 2012 - 11:23 am

      Oh okay good. Just wanted to make sure that I did not make you feel less than or inadequate in any way as you certainly have the right to your own opinion. Cool :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 705 other followers

